≡ Menu

Day State-supported Courses

Massachusetts Residents*

Tuition per credit hour $ 25.00
College fees per credit hour $177.00
Total per credit hour $202.00

New England Regional Student Program

Tuition per credit hour $37.50
College fees per credit hour $177.00
Total per credit hour $214.50

Non-resident & International Students

Tuition per credit hour $230.00
College fees per credit hour $177.00
Total per credit hour $407.00

Non-state-supported Courses **

Tuition per credit hour $25.00
College fees per credit hour $177.00
Total per credit hour $202.00

Selective Health Science Program Fees (per semester)

Nursing Degree (day) $850
Nursing Degree (evening) $850
Practical Nurse Certificate $1,100
LPN Bridge $1,100
Dental Hygiene Degree $2,225
Dental Assistant Certificate $350

Additional Expenses—All Students

Registration fee $50.00 per semester
Technology access fee $75.00 per semester (for students registered for one to eight credits per semester)
$100.00 per semester (for students registered for nine or more credits per semester)
Health insurance*** $1,629.00 (September-August)
$1,088.00 (January-August for spring semester students entering in January)
LEM (laboratory, equipment and materials) fee**** $10.00 per credit for laboratory and other equipment-intensive courses
Student activity fee $20.00 per semester for students taking 9 credits or more per semester


*   Massachusetts Residents.  A resident student is defined as a U.S. citizen or resident alien who has lived in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for at least six continuous months preceding the beginning date of the academic period for which he/she seeks to enroll. All International students attending this college with a student visa must pay non-resident tuition.
**   Non-state-supported courses are offered through the Division of Lifelong Learning and Workforce Development, which includes some day courses, all WEB courses, and all courses offered at Leominster, Devens, and Fitchburg campuses.
***  State law mandates that students (with nine credits or more per semester) carry health insurance if not currently insured. There is a mandatory basic plan insurance charge for all students enrolled in nine or more credits. A student who has adequate medical coverage may request a waiver by goiing to mwcc.edu and clicking on “Quick Links” and “Waive Insurance”. Free care is not considered adequate medical coverage.  The cost for this plan is set by a committee representing all Massachusetts community colleges and is subject to change annually.
**** LEM (laboratory, equipment and materials) fee applies to all courses with prefixes: ACC227, ASL, ART, AUT, BCT, BIO (except 103), CAD, BTC, CGD, CET, CHE, CIS, CJU234, CLS, DAS, DHY, DSI201, DSI202, EAS, EGM105, EGM115, EGM125, EGM220, EGM280, EET, EKG, EVS, FST, HEA115, HEA116, MAS (except 101, 102), MET, MLT, MTC, NRD120, NRD130, NUR (except 099), PHY, PLB, PTA, SPA, WPT and all courses with section codes WEB, NET, MCO, W2B and TLC.

Cancellation for Non Payment of Charges

Payment of all charges is due in full by the due date specified on the student bill. Students whose accounts have not been paid in full, or otherwise cleared through commitments by other sources, will be subject to cancellation of class enrollment.

Payment Options

The college accepts payment of tuition and fees by cash, check, money order, Discover, Visa, and MasterCard. A monthly payment plan is also administered by the FACTS Nelnet Co. Financial aid, scholarships, waivers and third party payments are also means available to satisfy payment of the applicable tuition and fees.

Credit Cards

Students may use MasterCard, VISA or Discover to pay their tuition and fees. To do so please log in to iConnect (iConnect.mwcc.edu) and click the tab at the top that says “Pay my Bill”.

Payment Plan

Students may enroll in a monthly payment plan administered by FACTS Nelnet. A modest enrollment fee is charged but no interest is charged. This option is only available for the fall and spring full semesters.

Third Party Payment

Occasionally a student’s employer or outside agency will satisfy all or part of their obligation to the college. Under these circumstances, authorization from the company or agency is required in order to stop cancellation of classes for non- payment. Please contact the student accounts office 978-630-9149 with any questions or to submit proper documentation. Students may be required to pay for the course in order to continue if all requirements are not met.

Waivers, Scholarships and Financial Aid

Tuition waivers (for example: senior citizen tuition waivers, veterans waivers, and state-contract driven employee benefits) are required to be submitted to the Student Accounts Office prior to start of classes. Students without documentation may have their classes canceled for non-payment.

Please refer to other sections of the guide for detailed discussions on senior citizen waivers, veterans waivers, financial aid.

Refund Options

MWCC has partnered with Higher One to provide disbursement services for financial aid and tuition refunds. Under this process MWCC students will receive a Mountain Lion Debt Card. Cards will be mailed to the primary address on file with MWCC. To receive your refund, this card must be activated. During card activation, you will choose how to receive your refund money. The options include direct deposit into a OneAccount (account with Higher One), deposited to another bank of your choice, or mailed, as a paper check, to the address you designate.

For more information about the Mountain Lion Debt Card and refunds, please visit www.mountainliondebitcard.com. Please contact the student account office 978-630-9149 with any additional questions.

Refund Policy

In the case of withdrawal, an official withdrawal form must be completed.

Credit Courses:

The college refund policy is as follows (this policy is subject to change without notice):

A. the tuition and other fees will be refunded as follows

  1. prior to the classes starting 100%
  2. through the first week of classes 100%
  3. during the second week of classes 50%
  4. after the second week of classes 0%.
  5. if a class is canceled by the college, all tuition and fees will be refunded

B. prior to the start of each semester, the Records office will publish and make available the exact dates that define the first through second week of classes applicable to this refund policy

C. student financial assistance recipients will have their refunds calculated according to applicable federal regulations

D. for sessions of eight weeks or less (including all summer courses), each class will be considered to be one week for the refund calculation above

E. weekend courses, intersession courses, modular courses, distance learning courses (excluding WEB courses), telecourses, cooperative education, and other non-standard length courses have a special refund policy. Please contact the records office

Noncredit Courses:

Prior to seven days before first class meeting: 100% refund. After first class: no refund.

Senior Citizen Tuition/Fee Waiver

A. Students 60 years and older and who are Massachusetts residents for at least one year are eligible for waiver of credit based tuition and fees on a space available basis. Eligible senior citizens may not register for classes until one week prior to the start of classes, if space is available, to take advantage of the senior citizen tuition and fee waiver. Individuals registering prior to that time will be expected to pay all applicable tuition and fees. Please call records office for further information 978-630-9270.

B. Massachusetts legislature has approved a number of tuition waiver programs, Categorical Tuition Waivers, for individuals meeting certain criteria. These waivers include the Veterans Tuition Waiver, the Massachusetts National Guard Tuition and Fee Assistance Program, the Massachusetts Rehabilitation Client Waiver, the Native American Waiver, and others. Eligible individuals must present proof of eligibility to receive a tuition waiver of state-supported tuition (classes with a billing attribute of B100). Fees and non-state supported tuition will only be waived when the enabling legislation calls for such action.

C. Eligibility requirements include the following criteria: Be accepted to a degree or certificate program; be enrolled in at least three credits per semester; be making satisfactory academic progress; be a permanent legal resident of Massachusetts for at least one year; be a US citizen or eligible non-citizen; not be in default of a student loan; be in compliance with selective service laws.

Unpaid Debt Policy

It is MWCC’s policy that students or former students having any unpaid obligations for tuition or any fees due the college and who have not made acceptable arrangements for settlement of such obligations, will be subject to the withholding of any grades, grade reports, transcripts, diplomas and certificates, and will not be eligible to enroll in any course or program of the college until satisfactory settlement of unpaid debts. Students will incur all costs of collection if the college must place their accounts with a collection agency and with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for intercept of other state payments (tax refunds, etc.). All receipts for payment must be issued in the student’s name, regardless of who is paying the bill. Former students who have a current student loan default will be subject to the same prohibitions.


Mount Wachusett Community College (MWCC) is located less than 20 miles from a reserves forces training area and two USAF bases. The college is in close proximity to numerous veteran organizations that serve thousands of veterans in the region. The college has an enrollment of approximately 200 who are veterans. In 2010, the college established the Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success (Veterans Success Center) to address the unique academic, financial, physical, and social needs of veterans transitioning from solider to student. The center will provide an intensive outreach and recruitment strategy, special admissions and transfer assistance, veterans’ benefits and financial aid advising, veteran orientation, a veteran transition course with a hybrid online component for continued connection with veterans, intrusive advising techniques with a veteran advisor, coordinated study groups, mentoring program by veterans and for veterans, a textbook loan program to assist veterans struggling with delayed veteran educational benefits, and an adaptive equipment loan program to assist veterans struggling with traumatic brain injury and hearing loss.

FIPSE is a unit of the Higher Education Programs within the Office of Postsecondary Education, U.S. Department of Education. FIPSE’s mandate is to “improve postsecondary educational opportunities” across a broad range of concerns. Through its various grant competitions, FIPSE seeks to support the implementation of innovative educational reform ideas, to evaluate how well they work, and to share the findings with the larger education community.

The center can be reached at 978-630-9408. For additional veteran information, please consult the records office, 978-630-9270.

To be eligible for veteran tuition waivers:

  1. Student must be enrolled in an associate’s degree or certificate program.
  2. Student must be taking credit courses and be a permanent legal resident of Massachusetts for at least six months prior to the start of the semester.
  3. Must have an honorable discharge from Military Service.
  4. Provide a copy of your DD214.
  5. The Vietnam Veteran waiver and the Massachusetts National Guard Tuition and Fee Assistance Program will apply to state and non-state supported tuition. All appropriate fees must be paid.

Note:  These amounts are as of June 2016.  Tuition and fees are subject to change, without notice.