Alumni of the Year

MWCC Alumni of the Year - Kevin Berg and Mayor Mark Hawke

Past Alumni of the Year

2017: Susannah Whipps
2016: Mark Hawke
2015 – Kevin Berg, Class of 1984
2014-  Chevenee Reavis, Class of 2000
2013-  Christopher Brown, Class of 2010
2012-  Alfred E. LeBlanc, Class of 1980
2011-   Denise Kindschi Gosselin & Richard Elmer
2010-  Harold E. Brown, Jr., Class of 1992
2009 – Salvatore L. Perla, Class of 1992
2008 – Birgit Brauer, Class of 1989
2007 – Diane Castelli, Class of 1983
2006 – Jimmy S. Pappas, Class of 1991
2005 – Robert A. Oakes
2004 – Todd Bajakian
2003 – Robert Gillis
2003 – Dean Mazzarella
2002 – Jeff Bean
2001 – Sharon Tibbetts
2000 – Karen Bettez Halnon
1999 – Tom Kole
1998 – Brian Meunier
1997 – Brian Roberts
1996 – Susan Suchocki
1995 – Anthony Cascio
1994 – Robyn Flynn
1993 – No award given
1992 – Marie Trottier
1991 – No award given
1990 – Jane Anderson
1989 – Robert J. Regan

Alumni of the Year Criteria

The Mount Wachusett Community College Alumni of the Year Award is the most prestigious honor that the college can bestow upon one of its alumni. Created in 1989, the Alumni of the Year Award recognizes a Mount Wachusett Community College graduate who has exhibited exceptional career leadership, and/or service to community and/or commitment to the college.

Selection Criteria

  • The nominee has demonstrated success in his/her vocation and/or has shown distinguished service and/or leadership in his/her community.
  • The nominee exemplifies the college’s mission and commitment to community, i.e. community, church, political or charitable service.
  • This award is presented only one time to an individual; therefore, all previous recipients are ineligible for subsequent consideration.


  • Nominations will be solicited from faculty, staff, and friends of the college.
  • Nomination forms must be submitted to the MWCC Foundation by the published deadline.
  • The nominee must have graduated from Mount Wachusett Community College.
  • Nominations are confidential – all candidates remain unaware of their nomination.
  • The Alumni of the Year recipient is honored at Commencement in May of each year. The recipient is expected to attend the Commencement Ceremony to receive this award.
  • Completed nomination forms should be submitted to:
    • MWCC Foundation, Inc.
      Mount Wachusett Community College
      444 Green Street
      Gardner, MA 01440978-630-9276