Browse by Category

Evening of Excellence

MWCC honored the academic achievements of outstanding students at the annual “Evening of Excellence” ceremony May 10 at the Four Points by Sheraton, Leominster.

“We’re here to recognize the achievements of our students, and they are many,” President Daniel M. Asquino said. The ceremony showcased the accomplishments of numerous students from the region, ranging from career changers to dual enrollment students.

Executive Vice President Ann McDonald and Dr. Vincent Ialenti, dean of Academic and Institutional Technology, served as masters of ceremony, building upon a theme of smart phone apps and other short cuts that can be used in life, with the exception of earning a college degree. Unlike the popular “easy button” or the proliferation of apps that now simplify so many aspects of life, the MWCC students honored for their academic achievements attained their goals the traditional way – through hard work and perseverance, Ialenti said.

“Remember…there is not always going to be an easy button or an app that works for everything in your future, but hopefully the skills, work ethic and dedication that you showed at MWCC will help you to succeed and grow in the future.”

In addition to curriculum awards and other recognitions, the MWCC Foundation, Inc. presented a number of awards during the ceremony. Executive Director Darlene Morrilly noted that the foundation has awarded $230,000 in scholarships to date during the 2011-2012 academic year.

The following awards were presented:

Outstanding Achievement Awards

All USA Academic Team Nominees: Caroline H. Horvitz and Isaac M. Matson
Visions Program Award: Andres L. Figueroa
Rx Award: Sheila Beane
Best of English 101: Karen L. Jones, Claudia Elbourn, and Andrea L. Bartlett
Sandy Signor Award: Andrea B. Gendron
Jean Tandy Award: Grace A. Santos
Service Learning Award: Alan S. Beauchene and Ann Reynolds
Exemplary Service Learning Awards: Steven L. Adams, Chris W. Aubuchon, Stephen L. Bassett, Crystal B. Berenholz, Neisha M. Boulanger, Allen R. Camara, Brian D. Durrin, Bonny B. Ethridge, Cindy L. Fanning, Jennifer M. Gemma, Derek N. Gyles, Donald B. Hager, Miranda A. Hamel, Dustin J. Holden, Elizabeth D. Kalinowski, Shannon C. Koutrakos, Nathan D. Lamkin, Brian A. LaPrise, Krystal E. LeBlanc, Jayme A. Parmenter, Kelley A. Perla, Ann Reynolds, Leslie S. Rivera, Freddy Robles, Nicole M. Sanchez, Michael P. Scott, Danielle E. Southcotte, Chad E. Stateler, Sean M. Vaillancourt, Melanie Velez, and Pamela A. Wood.

Curriculum Awards

Art: Alyssa A. Fishenden
Biotechnology/Biomanufacturing: Zhang Fen Chai
Broadcasting & Electronic Media: Brienna E. Lahti
Business Administration Career: Matthew A. Cucchiara
Business Administration Transfer: Andrea B. Gendron
Complementary Health Care: Sharon A. Godin
Computer Graphic Design – Print Concentration: Jonathan R. Van Dyke
Computer Graphic Design – Web Concentration: Jessica L. Gloriant
Computer Information Systems: Joshua A. Robichaud
Criminal Justice: Isaac M. Matson
Dental Hygiene: Caitlyn M. McBride
Early Childhood Education – Career: Katherine M. Peltola
Early Childhood Education – Transfer: Christine Sawyer
General Studies: Diana L. Couillard
Human Services: Ann Reynolds
Liberal Arts & Sciences: Alisha M. Stokes
Medical Assisting: Karen D. Moore
Nursing: Lisa M. Baillargeon, Colleen M. Grimes, and Sheri L. West
Paralegal: Becky Anne Abbott
Natural Resources Technology: Jesse M. Roberts
Physical Therapist Assistant: Diana L. Couillard

MWCC Foundation Awards

Alumni Scholarship: Christina A. Halfkenny
Arthur F. Haley Scholarship: Sarah C. Adams
Barbara Chaplin Memorial Scholarship: Ryann L. Brown
Barnes & Noble Scholarship: Patricia R. Woodliff
Carl Tammi Scholarship: Michael D. Fontaine
Carrie Progen Memorial Scholarship: Samantha G. Hanson
Father Adamo Scholarship: Ann Reynolds
John Burton Award: Alyssa C. Fishenden and Michelle A. Schrock
Joseph B. Ruth Scholarship: Shabana Phillips
Keith Nivala Award: Gregory D. Jones
Millie McGuire Foundation: Vikki T. Stephens
MWCC Veterans Memorial Scholarship: Patricia L. Johnson
Nashoba Valley Healthcare Fund: Lisa M. Baillargeon
Robert Weibel Awards: Sarah C. Adams
Robert H. Gilman Memorial Scholarship: David A. Pulaski

Memorial Awards

Aspasia Anastos Award: Michelle A. Peters
Judge Moore Award: Nancy C. Clark and Ann Reynolds
Peter J. Trainor Leadership Award: Isaac M. Matson

Honors Society Recognition

Alpha Beta Gamma Scholarship Award: Ellen Merrill-Pugsley and Julia C. Shields

Honors Program: Sarah C. Adams, Emma E. Brady, Teresa L. Cataldo, Michelle L. Desrosiers, Matthew F. Fortier, Andrea B. Gendron, Aaron R. Goldsby, Caroline H. Horvitz, Cassandra M. Hulecki, Rachael L. Love, Isaac M. Matson, Ann Reynolds, Elena Rivera, Jesse M. Roberts, Phillip Smith, and Jonathan R. Van Dyke.