Browse by Category

MWCC Honors Outstanding Students 2016 During Evening of Excellence Awards Ceremony

Honors Program grads with Dan Soucy
Honors Program graduates with Assistant Professor Dan Soucy.

MWCC celebrated the academic achievements of extraordinary students during its annual Evening of Excellence awards dinner May 12 at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Leominster. Students were recognized for their academic performance as well as for their contributions in the community.

President Daniel M. Asquino congratulated the honorees on their accomplishments. “You are humble, you’re engaged, you care, you’re involved. I am really inspired and encouraged about where you are going in the world.”

In addition to college curriculum and outstanding achievement awards, the MWCC Foundation also presented a number of memorial awards and scholarships during the ceremony. The foundation has awarded more $300,000 in scholarships this year.

The following awards were presented:


All USA Academic Team Nominees: Chelsea L. Garrity and Jana C. Murphy

Visions Program Award: Megan E. Bernard and Michel L. Cocuzza

RX Award: Elizabeth J. Fogle

Best of Mathematics: Chandler Guiffre

Sandy Signor Award: Meaghan K. Bruce

Sharyn Rice Award: Michel L. Cocuzza

Jean Tandy Award: Alannah M. McDonald

2016 Newman Civic Fellow Award: Rafaela O. Lopes

Service Learning Scholarship: Bonnie Veilleux and Tatjana I. James


Accounting Concentration: Silvana Sosa

Automotive Technology: Bjarne W. Hansen

Biological Science Track: Benjamin Spurr

Biotechnology/Biomanufacturing: Sarah S. Tuomala

Business Administration Career: Angelique Chaput

Business Administration Transfer: Mellissa S. Richard

Chemical Science: Bella Ballin

Communications Track: Melissa Bobka

Computer Information Systems: Jonathan Inman

Complementary Health Care: Diane Polewarczyk

Criminal Justice Corrections: Emily S. Jillson

Criminal Justice Law Enforcement: Jared Racette

Dental Hygiene: Alyssa B. Adoretti

Early Childhood Education Career: Emily C. Wuoti

Early Childhood Education Transfer: Elizabeth Hart

Elementary Education: Chelsea M. Gentile

Exercise and Sports Science: Ashley Hamel

Fire Science Technology: Michael J. Gadbois

General Studies: Lorraine S. Desjean

Graphic & Interactive Design: Thomas P. Hill Jr.

Health Information Management: Linda G. Coyne

Human Services: Amanda D. Favreau

Interdisciplinary Studies: Christopher Stefanski

Interdisciplinary Studies – Allied Health: Amanda L’Ecuyer

Legal Studies: Denise A. White

Liberal Arts & Sciences: John Blombach

LPN to ADN Bridge: Rebecca A. Daniel

Media Arts & Technology: Jacob M. LaFreniere

Medical Assisting: Kristen M. Mauro

Medical Laboratory Technology: Rebecca M. Gleason

Natural Resources: Rebekah Amburgey

Nursing: Casandra L. Brisson and Mercy T. Dhliwayo

Physical Therapist Assistant: Sandra C. Lefferts

Physics or Pre-Engineering Track: Chandler Giuffre

Theatre Arts Track: Kevin W. Figueroa


Alumni Scholarship: Bella Ballin

Barbara Chaplin Memorial Scholarship: Ashlie Visco

Barnes & Noble Scholarship: Dillon T. Hammond and Benjamin Spurr

Carl Tammi Award: Andre Berberena

Carrie Progen Memorial Scholarship: Kayla Arianna Shabo and Tiana L. Bean

Craig Hamel Scholarship: Breana L. Keegan

Ellen Daly Dental Hygiene Scholarship: Casey Bedingfield and Leah Trudeau

Father Adamo Scholarship: Amanda D. Favreau

James D. Murphy Scholarship: Thomas Berger

Jonathan C. Craven Scholarship: Kimberly A. Cook

Joseph Baldyga Scholarship: Jason R. Catalano

Joseph B. Ruth Scholarship: Robin A. Wead

Keith Nivala Award: Kyle M. Morneau

Marilyn Kiosses Scholarship: Cassandra R. Pateneaude

Melissa Herr Marsh Scholarship: Stacy L. Riel-Rigiero

Michael & Christine Greenwood Business Scholarship: Angelique Chaput

Mount Observer Scholarship: Stevie LaBelle

MWCC Veteran’s Memorial Scholarship: Nicholas A. DePaula


Aspasia Anastos Award: Edward J. Santos

Judge Moore Award: Chelsea Garrity (Academic Excellence) and Emily Lemieux (Excellence in Writing)

Peter J. Trainor Leadership Award: Michel L. Cocuzza

Roberts Scholar: Kimberly A. Cook


Alpha Beta Scholarship: Michel L. Cocuzza and Kimberly L. Mertell

Honors Program Graduates: Kwadwo D. Acheampong, Victoria R. Allen, John D. Blombach, Jamie J. Grant, Stevie LaBelle, Yanjun Li, Jenna M. McCann, Diane Polewarczyk and Calvin C. Seppala