Browse by Category

MWCC Honors Outstanding Students with an Evening of Excellence

Award recipients Bryan Sanderson and Elizabeth Reiser with Fagan Forhan
Award recipients Bryan Sanderson and Elizabeth Reiser with Fagan Forhan, Director of Experiential Learning Opportunties and Civic Engagement. For more photos, visit MWCC’s Facebook page.

Mount Wachusett Community College celebrated the academic accomplishments of extraordinary students at the annual Evening of Excellence awards dinner May 9 at the Four Points by Sheraton, Leominster. The students were honored with prestigious awards not only for their performance inside of the classroom, but for their contributions in the community as well.

“This is a fantastic time of the year,” said President Daniel M. Asquino. “It represents and celebrates your many accomplishments, academic pursuits, civic engagement and contributing to the community. That really is what this college and life is all about.”

Dr. Vincent Ialenti, dean of academic & instructional technology, and Rosanne Morel, professor and chair of the Early Child Education department, served as the event’s masters of ceremony, focusing on the history of the college, which turns 50 this year.

“I have worked at MWCc for 86 percent of those 50 years, so I was not there from the very beginning, but I was fortunate to get to know all of the original players involved in the college’s founding,” Ialenti said.

Greg Clement, assistant dean of students, and Dr. Melissa Fama, vice president of Academic Affairs, welcomed the gathering of students, family member and friends.

In addition to curriculum awards and other recognitions, the MWCC Foundation, Inc. presented a number of awards during the ceremony. Executive Director Carla DeFosse noted that the foundation has awarded $240,000 in scholarships to date during the 2012-2013 academic year.

The following awards were presented:


All USA Academic Team Nominees: Karen A. Duchnowski and Elizabeth M. Reiser.

Visions Program Award: Mary L. Burns

RX Award: Angelica Ryan

Best of English 101: Kyle F. Geddes, Nicholas Jamieson, and Sergio J. Solorzano

Sandy Signor Award: Alexander P. Moore

Jean Tandy Award: Rebecca M. Dudley

2013 Newman Civic Fellow Award: Bryan D. Sanderson

Service Learning Scholarship: Bryan D. Sanderson and Elizabeth M. Reiser



Art: Tia M. Kinsman

Automotive Technology: John C. Galloni-Rose and Jacob C. Coleman

Biotechnology/Biomanufacturing: Michelle J. Mayer

Broadcasting and Electronic Media – Photography Option: Paige E. Crane

Business Administration Career: Karen A. Duchnowski

Business Administration Transfer: Chrystal J. Maguire

Clinical Laboratory Science: Devin M. Gosselin and Heather M. CampoBasso

Complementary Health Care: Christine T. Oakes

Computer Graphic Design – Print Concentration: Tamara R. Malay

Computer Graphic Design – Web Concentration: Jonathan R. Skinner

Computer Information Systems: Bobby J. LeBlanc

Criminal Justice: Rachel L. Ryan

Dental Hygiene: Jennifer L. White

Early Childhood Education Career: Malisa J. Younger

Early Childhood Education Transfer: Darri Wenning

Energy Management: Kris L. Provost

Fire Science: Mark A. Bettez

Human Services: Christine L. Eck

Liberal Arts & Sciences: Carol A. Allain, Wendy H. Anderson and Claudia Elbourn

Medical Assisting: Julie A. Grigarauskas

Natural Resources Technology: Christin R. Racette

Nursing: Rya M. Bennett, Felicitas G. Fandreyer and Nancy H. McLaughlin

Paralegal: Matthew J. Niles

Physical Therapy Assistant: Louise A. Helmer



Alumni Scholarship: Julie R. Graziano

Barbara Chaplin Memorial Scholarship: Bonnie E. Mailman

Barnes & Noble Scholarship:  Serena C. Senecal and Rosemary Mruk

Carl Tammi Award: Timothy Loiselle

Carrie Progen Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer L. Potvin

Craig Hamel Scholarship: Elizabeth W. Chomba and Felicitas G. Fandreyer

Ellen Daly Dental Hygiene Scholarship: Whitney Fox

Father Adamo Scholarship: Tia S. Long

James D. Murphy Scholarship: Christine L. Eck

Jonathan C. Craven Scholarship: Nicole M. Riel

John Burton Award: Tia M. Kinsman and Mary E. Bogue

Joseph B. Ruth Scholarship: Glenn R. Butler

H. Marilyn Kiosses Scholarship: Kimberly J. Laramee and Patricia L. Johnson

Melissa Herr Marsh Scholarship: Amanda L. Gorrell and Krista S. Shell

Millie McGuire Foundation: Christina L. Wiggins

Mount Observer Scholarship: Claudia Elbourn

Robert Weibel Scholarship: Sara K. Barnes

Robert H. Gilman Memorial Scholarship: Ian Van Luven

Sara Kajel Award: Sandra A. Bushey and Shayna M. Deslauriers

MWCC Veteran’s Memorial Scholarship: Daniel R. Barry



Aspasia Anastos Award: Julie R. Graziano

Judge Moore Award: Claudia Elbourn and Alexander P. Moore

Peter J. Trainor Leadership Award: Bridgette E. Woodcock



Alpha Beta Scholarship: Christina L. Wiggins and Kathleen A. Matson

Honors Program: Anthony S. Cesolini, Pamela S. Flint, Brittni A. Motyka, Rosemary Mruk, Melanie H. Olson, Lindsey M. Smart and Christina L. Wiggins