Browse by Category

MWCC Celebrates Dental Hygiene Graduates in Pinning Ceremony

Dental Hygiene Class of 2022
Pictured from left to right: Josphat Ndgewa, Julie Von Fettweis, Lauren Hnath, Shaina Lakanen, Patty Brine, Makenzi Mitchell, Mallory LeBlanc, Taven Felix, Hannah Paul, Sarah O’Sullivan

Mount Wachusett Community College held a pinning ceremony for the eleven members of the Dental Hygiene Class of 2022 on May 13, 2022. The pinning ceremony represents the passage from student to registered dental hygienist.

“This is a challenging program even under the best of circumstances and we have had far from the best of circumstances over the last couple of years,” MWCC President James Vander Hooven said. “You have proven significant resilience and ability to bounce back from the obstacles placed before you. Take the time this evening to enjoy this moment and recognize what you have accomplished.”

“The application deadline for entering the program you have now successfully completed was February 1, 2020,” Cynthia Cadoret, Director of Dental Education Programs, told students. “Who knew what was in store for you, or any of us, later that spring when the pandemic hit. You were accepted, and you accepted the challenge of entering a rigorous academic and clinical program while much was still unknown about COVID-19.”

“Your faculty rose to the challenge of delivering the curriculum during these challenging times,” Cadoret continued. “The summer of 2020 was spent preparing for your class to start in the fall, purchasing a seemingly endless list of equipment with the goal of keeping you and our patients safe. You had a bumpy start with interruptions during the first months of your education, but despite it all, you formed strong bonds with your classmates and faculty and are here today.”

The Dental Hygiene Class of 2022 graduates are:

Patty Brine, Ashby, MA

Taven Felix, Roxbury, MA

Lauren Hnath, South Deerfield, MA

Nicole Kelly, Shirley, MA

Shaina Lakanen, New Ipswich, NH

Mallory LeBlanc, Templeton, MA

Makenzi Mitchell, Leominster, MA

Josphat Ndgewa, Worcester, MA

Sarah O’Sullivan, Barre, MA

Hannah Paul, Athol, MA

Julie von Fettweis, New York, NY