Browse by Category

MWCC Honors 61 Outstanding Students During Evening of Excellence Awards Ceremony

President James Vander Hooven presents Jana Murphy with her 2017 Newman Civic Fellow Award at the Mount Wachusett Community College Evening of Excellence.

Mount Wachusett Community College celebrated the academic achievements of extraordinary students during its annual Evening of Excellence awards dinner May 12 at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Leominster. Students were recognized not only for their performance inside the classroom, but for their contributions in the community as well.

In addition to college curriculum and outstanding achievement awards, the MWCC Foundation also presented a number of memorial awards and scholarships during the ceremony. The foundation has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships this year.

“You have earned and you deserve the excellence that has brought you to this moment,” said President James Vander Hooven, who took over the office in March. “I haven’t been here very long but I can say from the bottom of my heart that I am proud of each and every one of you for the excellence you have shown. I implore you to use whatever you have gained at The Mount to benefit others and to build and strengthen our communities because we need that now more than ever.”

The following awards were presented:


Art                                                                                             Kevin Lynch of Worcester

Communications Track                                                       Rebekah Chiasson of Jaffrey NH

Early Childhood Education – Career                                Leslie A. Ackers of Gardner

Early Childhood Education – Transfer                             Samantha Gravlin of Gardner

Elementary Education Track                                             Brianna Marsh of Orange

Liberal Arts & Sciences                                                       Faith Kurtz of Holden

Eden Shaveet of Hubbardston

Interdisciplinary Studies                                                    Angela M. Haynes of Richmond, NH

Accounting Concentration                                                 Cynthia A. Boucher of Ashburnham

Business Administration – Transfer                                Iva Quinn of Winchendon

Business Administration – Career                                     Linda J. Anderson of Ashburnham

Analytical Laboratory and Quality                                    Staci Wolski of Fitchburg

Systems Concentration

Biotechnology/Biomanufacturing                                     Nicolas R. Romero of Fitchburg

Biological Science Track                                                      Jennifer M. Guerriero of Ashburnham

Computer Information Systems                                         Marguerite E. Nicholas of Gardner

Chemical Science Track                                                      Lorna A. Tambi of Hudson

Natural Resources                                                                Jari Squire of Harvard

Paralegal Degree                                                                  Carrie F. DeCosta of Leominster

Physics or Pre-Engineering Track                                   Liam J. Scanlon of Barre

Fire Science Technology                                                    Dylan B. Jones of Townsend

Criminal Justice

-Law Enforcement Concentration                                    Joshua T. Goliber of Buzzards Bay

-Corrections Concentration                                              Alicia Navarro of Fitchburg

Human Services                                                                  Rachel C. Vargeletis of Ashburnham

Dental Hygiene                                                                   Mailoan Nguyen of Clinton

Complementary Health Care                                           Lisa K. Kowalczyk of Gardner

Physical Therapist Assistant                                            Courtney B. Hurley of Shrewsbury

Medical Assisting                                                               Nicole B. Joseph of Gardner

Medical Laboratory Technology                                        Anne M. Allan of Lunenburg

Nursing                                                             Elizabeth A. Brown of Leominster

Nursing – Evenings                                                   Kristina D. Snay of Winchendon

LPN to ADN Bridge                                                      Joseph K. Kum of Worcester


Aspasia Anastos Award                                                  Sofia G. McDonald Games of Barre


Judge Moore Awards                                                     Katrina K. Ung of Jaffrey, NH (Academic Excellence)

Rebekkah Dietz of Gardner (Excellence in Writing)


Peter J. Trainor Leadership Award                                     Kimberly A. Cook of Gardner


Roberts Scholar                                                        Jessie Mascitti of Rindge, NH


  1. Marilyn Kiosses Scholarship                                        Colleen M. Suarez of Fitchburg


Craig Hamel Scholarship                                                Sabrina A. Pettigrew of Rutland


Melissa Herr Marsh Scholarship                                        Sybil L. Sinclair of Ashburnham


Joseph S. Baldyga Veteran’s Fund                                       Stanley Choruzek of Lancaster


MWCC Veteran’s Memorial Scholarship                                    Cristen C. Comptois of Hubbardston


James D. Murphy Scholarship                                            Jasson Alvarado Gomez of Worcester




Honors Program Graduates


Lisa K. Kowalczyk of Gardner

Jana Murphy of Hubbardston

Marymar Perez Cruz of Fitchburg

Eden Shaveet of Hubbardston




All-USA Community College                                     Michel L. Cocuzza of Winchendon

Academic Team Nominees                                        Eden Shaveet of Hubbardston


2017 Newman Civic Fellow Award                           Jana Murphy of Hubbardston


Visions Program Award                                             Nicholas Coddington of Winchendon

Sarah L. Mello of Shirley


RX Program Award                                                     Ann Giaquinto Scott of Barre


Best of English 101 Award                                         1st Place: Tara Dugan of Templeton

2nd Place: Amanda Pawlikowski of Gardner

3rd Place: Jessica I. McKay of Gardner


Mount Observer Scholarship                                   Courtney L. Wentz of East Templeton


Best of Mathematics                                                  Liam J. Scanlon of Barre


Ellen Daly Dental Hygiene Scholarship                Linda N. Mclean of Troy, NH


John Burton Award                                                   Kayla Arianna Shabo of Paxton


Jean Tandy Award                                                     Kyle W. Salam, Baldwinville


Carrie Progen Memorial Scholarship                    Kayla D. Rameau of Baldwinville


Carl Tammi Award                                                    Colleen J. Moran of East Templeton


Keith Nivala Award                                                   Nicholas R. Auffrey of Westminster


Sandy Signor Award                                                 Jessica L. Decker of Westminster


Service Learning Scholarships                               Rachel C. Vargeletis of Ashburnham

Ryan B. Weston of Hubbardston


Sharyn Rice Award                                                    Tianna M. Caisse of Gardner