Browse by Category

19 MWCC Students Recognized at Dental Hygiene and Dental Assisting Pinning Ceremony

A group of students in white lab coats and nice clothes underneath is lined up for a photo.
MWCC’s 2018 Dental Hygiene class is pictured before the pinning ceremony. From left to right are: Jamika Nance-Garcia, Linda McLean, Samantha Zaines, Justine Smith, Elizabeth Campbell, Colleen Demboske, and Tiffany Cunningham. In the front row from left to right are: Amanda Melanson, Briana Cormier, Sharlene Seppala, Kailey Lang, and Charlie Hollins.

Nineteen students graduating on May 16 with their Dental Assisting or Dental Hygiene degrees were honored Friday night during a special pinning ceremony.

The ceremony held on May 11 is a time to recognize the hard work of the students and welcome them into the dental professions, according to Cindy Cadoret, the director of the dental education programs at Mount Wachusett Community College.

MWCC President James Vander Hooven encouraged students to be proud of the commitment to their studies that got them to this point as well as the work they will be doing in the community moving forward.

“What you have gained in this experience is the ability to serve others,” Vander Hooven said of their schooling. “I want to congratulate you on making it to this day. Enjoy the experience. Know that everyone out here is behind you.”

A group of women in dressed up clothing and white lab coats are lined up for a photo.
MWCC’s 2018 Dental Assisting class is pictured before the pinning ceremony. From left to right are: Alyssa Aveni, Jennifer Chiasson, Sarah O’Sullivan, Jessica Fino, Rosemary Haskell, Tammera Reynolds, and Savannah LaRoche.

The students honored from the dental programs were:

Dental Assisting:

·         Alyssa Aveni – Westminster

·         Jennifer Chiasson – Athol

·         Jessica Fino – Leominster

·         Rosemary Haskell – Fitchburg

·         Savannah LaRoche – Athol

·         Sarah O’Sullivan – Barre

·         Tammera Reynolds – Fitchburg

Dental Hygiene:

·         Elizabeth Campbell – Fitchburg

·         Briana Cormier – Gardner

·         Tiffany Cunningham – Gardner

·         Colleen Demboske – Royalston

·         Charlie Hollins – Fitchburg

·         Kailey Lang – Ashby

·         Linda McLean – Troy, NH

·         Amanda Melanson – Athol

·         Jamika Nance-Garcia – Gardner

·         Sharlene Seppala – Rindge, NH

·         Justina Smith – Westminster

·         Samantha Zaines – Holden

In addition to the pinning, special awards were presented to students who showed exemplary skill within their discipline.

Ashley Boudreau received the Ellen Daly Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to a first year dental hygiene student who achieves an Academic record of 3.5 or higher who also demonstrates clinical excellence, leadership, professionalism, teamwork, and commitment to dental hygiene and patient care.

Briana Cormier received the Curriculum Award that goes to the student graduating with the highest GPA and demonstrated excellence.

Elizabeth Campbell received the Massachusetts Dental Hygienists’ Association Academic Scholarship.

Jamika Nance-Garcia received the Massachusetts Dental Hygienists’ Association Membership Scholarship.

Sharlene Seppala received the Hu-Friedy Golden Scaler Award that is awarded to the student who demonstrates excellent clinical skills and competence and is always available to go above and beyond in the clinical setting.

Linda McLean received the Dental Hygiene Department Award that is awarded to a student who has demonstrated overall strong academic achievement, clinical excellence, leadership and is truly a team oriented professional in the dental setting.

Sarah O’Sullivan received the Dental Assisting Department Award in recognition of her overall excellence in academic achievement and clinical skill and demonstrated dedication to professionalism.

Charlie Hollins received the Colgate Star (Student Total Achievement Recognition) Award. The Colgate STAR Award recognizes graduating dental hygiene students who show excellence and commitment to the dental hygiene profession by:

•           Demonstrating true dedication to the profession

•           Exhibiting extraordinary compassion in patient care

•           Displaying enthusiasm and follow-through for community service

•           Demonstrating outstanding patient education and motivation skills

Samantha Zaines received the MDHA Worcester Component/MDHA Dental Hygienists’ Association Scholarship for a graduating senior.

Vanessa Inthachai received the MDHA Worcester Component/MDHA Dental Hygienists’ Association Scholarship for a first year student advancing to year two.