Browse by Category

Mount Wachusett Community College Holds Annual Evening of Excellence Award Ceremony

Mount Wachusett Community College recognized the achievements of its high-performing students in a virtual Evening of Excellence award ceremony on May 12, 2022.

Welcoming graduates, families, faculty, and staff to the event was interim Vice-President of Student Affairs, Jason Zelesky. “We are here to recognize the incredible passion and possibility that resides within this community. The accomplishments of these students are extraordinary, in scholarship, in the creative arts, in student life and activities, in our local communities, and as inspirational leaders, mentors, and responsible, active citizens.”

“This is the culmination of your educational journey; it is heartwarming to see you all enjoy the fruits of your labors and hard work over the last few years,” noted MWCC President James Vander Hooven. “Each and every one of you has a story, an experience, that has shaped who you have become through your educational journey. This is a time for you to celebrate you, to celebrate your success. I cannot thank you enough for putting in the hard work in spite of the challenges in order to be so successful that you have separated yourselves from others and selected for recognition.”

“It is great to have the opportunity to celebrate our best and brightest,” added interim Vice-President of Academic Affairs, John Eisler. “In the lives of our students, college can be transformative in so many ways, it’s an opportunity to pursue goals and seek achievement, explore, and refine interests, challenge yourself intellectually and creatively, identify latent talents, and ideally set you on a path to lifelong learning. Congratulations on your academic success and thank you for inspiring us.”

Curriculum Awards

Accounting Concentration, Amber Menard

Art Concentration, Olivia Bush

Art, Irene Gulnick

Automotive Technology, Johnathan Winn

Biology, Julie Barrett

Business Administration Career, Jose Flores

Business Administration Transfer, Sebastian Coscia,

Chemistry, Julie Barrett

Computer Information Systems, Mario D’Angelo

Criminal Justice Career, Joshua Surrette

Criminal Justice Transfer, John MacDonald

Dental Hygiene, Patty Brine

Early Childhood Education, Gina Burke

Early Childhood Education Transfer, Bobbie Jo LeBlanc

Early Education and Care for Exceptional Children, Theresa Bergevin

Earth/Environmental Science, Salsabil Hartley

Elementary Education Track, Larisa Stacy

Engineering and Physics, Benjamin Dearden

Fire Science Technology, Abigail Dubrawski

Graphic and Interactive Design, Hannah Bean

History and Political Science, Hannah Elbourn

Human Services, Paige Landry

Interdisciplinary Studies, Allied Health, Rebecca Rule-Sellers

Interdisciplinary Studies, Isabella Ervin

Legal Studies, Katie Santana

Liberal Arts & Sciences, Campbelle Stephens

Media Arts and Technology – Audio Engineering, Christian Maldonado

Media Arts and Technology – Video/Film Concentration, Clayton Perior

Natural Resources, Samina Mian

Nursing, Jade Martel

Nursing LPN to Bridge, Kailin Lawton

Physical Therapist Assistant, David Urella

Theater Arts Track, Marissa Roberts

Veterinary Technology, Zoe Zupko


MWCC Foundation Memorial Awards

Aspasia Anastos Award, Nelly Feliciano

Judge Moore Award for Academic Excellence, Campelle Stephens

Judge Moore Award for Excellence in Writing, Autumn McCollor

Peter J. Trainor Leadership Award, Daniel Dow

Roberts Scholar, Cassandra Conrad

  1. Marilyn Kiosses Scholarship, Carla Wheeler

Craig Hamel Scholarship, Laura Moran

Melissa Herr Marsh Scholarship, Lilian Thimotti

James D. Murphy Scholarship, Cody Nathanson

Joseph S. Baldyga Veteran’s Fund, Tony Lam

MWCC Veteran’s Memorial Scholarship, Andrew Martinez


Outstanding Achievement Awards

Excellence in Mathematics, Marco Legros

Mount Observer Scholarship, Daniel Dow

Ellen E. Daly Dental Hygiene Scholarship, Marlene Boucher-Ripley

John Burton Award, Lynsey Fletcher

John Burton Award, Irene Gulnick

Jean Tandy Award, Richard Chang

Carrie Progen Memorial Scholarship, Gabriela Rodas

Robert Weibel Award, Catherine Potter

Carl Tammi Award, Jonathan Benson

Keith Nivala Award, John MacDonald

Sany Signor Award, Nayeli Cuevas


Commonwealth Honors

Netty Bazile

Phoebe Burch

Isabella Ervin

Emily Eubanks

Perrin Grubb

Allison Kane

Mikyoung Kim

Shaye McKeen

Samina Mian

Jamal Michel

Jack Moore

Ernest Nyarko

Madeline Rose

Michela Short

Lilli Souvannavong

Campbelle Stephens

Andrew Vettese

Emily Woodard


President’s Keys

Rebecca Aubie

Julie Barrett

Hannah Elbourn

Isabella Ervin

Brooke Hazen

Campbelle Stephens


Dean’s Key

Aimee Ouellet