Browse by Category

MWCC Inducts 59 New Students into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

MWCC PTK Leaders
Left to right MWCC PTK Treasurer, Kalea Reilly, Chapter President and PTK All-State Nominee Nikki Ramos, Vice-President Chris Johnson, and Scribe and PTK All-State Nominee Wren Stoddard.

On Wednesday, April 24, 2024, the Phi Delta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Mount Wachusett Community College welcomed 59 new members to its ranks.

Founded in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recognizes the academic achievement of community college students and provides members with the opportunity for personal, academic, and professional growth through leadership and service.

Throughout the school year, PTK members coordinated and participated in activities and fundraisers, including the annual Winterfest Raffle, hot cocoa bar, and bake sales. In April, PTK raised over $940.00 through a two-day on-campus yard sale of items donated by staff and students. Half of the funds raised by these PTK events were donated to the MWCC Student Emergency Relief Fund. PTK expresses their gratitude to everyone who donated and volunteered for these events.

The PTK invited Leeanne Hadsel, M.Ed., CAGS, the college’s Senior Mental Health Counselor to give remarks. Hadsel shared a message of congratulations as well as a reminder of the importance of emotional and mental well-being in addition to resilience, dedication, and intellect to a successful and fulfilling life.

“Today is not just a day of celebration for your extraordinary academic achievements; it’s also an opportune moment to emphasize the many factors that make us successful. As bright minds within our college community, you’ve consistently pushed the boundaries of your capabilities, demonstrating resilience and dedication,” said Hadsel. “As you continue to excel and push the boundaries of what’s possible, let your well-being serve as the compass guiding you. Because when you’re feeling your best, you’re not just achieving greatness—you’re inspiring everyone around you to do the same.”

Additionally, two of the PTK members were chosen to represent MWCC at the Phi Theta Kappa All-Massachusetts Academic Team Recognition Ceremony at the Massachusetts State House.

“We are thrilled to have both Nikki Ramos and Wren Stoddard nominated for PTK All-State recognition,” noted advisor Fagan Forhan. “Both students have made tremendous contributions to our campus community and have made lasting change here in addition to totally rocking their academics.”

Advisors Fagan Forhan, Nicholas Cochrane, and Tami Morin, along with Chapter President Nikki Ramos, Vice-President Chris Johnson, Scribe Wren Stoddard and Treasurer, Kalea Reilly welcomed the 2024 Phi Theta Kappa, Phi Delta Chapter inductees.

Inducted into the PTK were:

Junia Alce, Fitchburg

Alexander Alejandro, Fitchburg

Raymond Bjelf, Gardner

Emily Blair, Phillipston

Michael Bolton, Stow

Katlin Bosworth, Winchendon

Samantha Boutwell, Rindge, NH

Gary Brayboy, Fitchburg

Dorothy Bulman, Athol

Summer Chamberlain, Rindge, NH

Oren Cohen, Leominster

Jennifer Dolimpio, Leominster

Morgan Downham, Greenfield

Brianna Finnegan, Shirley

Jennifer Ford, Oakham

Riley Forhan, Lancaster

Alyssa Goulet, Barre

Veronica Grubb, Fitchburg

Luke Guertin, Ware

Alyssa Hardy, Orange

Kat Hastings, Worcester

Branden Hoegen, Westminster

Gabriela Jackson, Fitchburg

Victoria Jean, Fitchburg

Justina Johnson, Gardner

Royal Kane, Petersham

Kiley Kulesza, Rutland

Dylan Lane, Westminster

Rainier Lavoie, Billerica

Ally Lewis, Westminster

Arlis Malnight, Gardner

Phyllis Mbugua, Dracut

Karina Mitchell, Willington, CT

Miranda Monahan, Hubbardston

Erin Mulligan, Lunenburg

Irene Njenga, Worcester

Conor O’Reilly, Gardner

Emiley Pedersen, Holden

Christina Porter, Fitchburg

Megan Prachniak, Holden

Fred Ramos, Fitchburg

Kalea Reilly, Ashburnham

Elias Rodriguez, Fitchburg

Fiorella Rodriguez, Westford

Ryan Romero Da Silveira, Phillipston

Erick Rosa, Lawrence

Karina Rosado, Fitchburg

Charles Sargent, Dudley

Paige Schirmer, Templeton

Crys Secino, Fitchburg

Veronica Shelton, Leominster

Danielle Sroczynski, Winchendon

Laura St Cyr, Ashburnham

Seth Tardie, Lunenburg

Elys Terrebush, Fitchburg

Olivia Wentworth, Fitchburg

Rachel Wilder, Sterling

Jerry Wish, Ashburnham

Kent Yang, Westminster