Browse by Category

Mount Wachusett honors outstanding students (The Gardner News, May 13, 2016)

Courtesy photo Mount Wachusett Community College Professor Janice Gearan poses with Amanda Favreau of Gardner, recipient of the Human Services curriculum award and the Father Adamo Scholarship, during the college’s annual Evening of Excellence awards ceremony.

Courtesy photo

Mount Wachusett Community College Professor Janice Gearan poses with Amanda Favreau of Gardner, recipient of the Human Services curriculum award and the Father Adamo Scholarship, during the college’s annual Evening of Excellence awards ceremony.GARDNER — Mount Wachusett Community College celebrated the academic achievements of extraordinary students during its annual Evening of Excellence awards dinner on Thursday at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Leominster.

Students were recognized for their academic performance as well as for their contributions in the community.

President Daniel M. Asquino congratulated the honorees on their accomplishments. “You are humble, you’re engaged, you care, you’re involved. I am really inspired and encouraged about where you are going in the world.”

In addition to college curriculum and outstanding achievement awards, the MWCC Foundation also presented a number of memorial awards and scholarships during the ceremony. The foundation has awarded more $300,000 in scholarships this year.

The following awards were presented:

All USA Academic Team Nominees: Chelsea L. Garrity of Barre and Jana C. Murphy of Ayer
Visions Program Award: Megan E. Bernard of Ashburnham and Michel L. Cocuzza of Winchendon
RX Award: Elizabeth J. Fogle of West Townsend
Best of Mathematics: Chand­ler Guiffre of Athol
Sandy Signor Award: Meag­han K. Bruce of Phillipston
Sharyn Rice Award: Michel L. Cocuzza of Winchendon
Jean Tandy Award: Alannah M. McDonald of Baldwinville
2016 Newman Civic Fellow Award: Rafaela O. Lopes of Leominster
Service Learning Scholarship: Bonnie Veilleux of Winchendon and Tatjana I. James of Athol

Accounting Concentration: Silvana Sosa of Leominster
Automotive Technology: Bjarne W. Hansen of Bolton
Biological Science Track: Benjamin Spurr of Barre
Biotechnology/Biomanufacturing: Sarah S. Tuomala of Fitchburg
Business Administration Career: Angelique Chaput of Lancaster
Business Administration Trans­fer: Mellissa S. Richard of Winchendon
Chemical Science: Bella Ballin of Worcester
Communications Track: Mel­issa Bobka of Barre
Computer Information Systems: Jonathan Inman of Templeton
Complementary Health Care: Diane Polewarczyk of Shirley
Criminal Justice Corrections: Emily S. Jillson of Athol
Criminal Justice Law Enforcement: Jared Racette of West Townsend
Dental Hygiene: Alyssa B. Adoretti of Sterling
Early Childhood Education Career: Emily C. Wuoti of Fitchburg
Early Childhood Education Transfer: Elizabeth Hart of Barre
Elementary Education: Chelsea M. Gentile of Gardner
Exercise and Sports Science: Ashley Hamel of Gardner
Fire Science Technology: Michael J. Gadbois of Spencer
General Studies: Lorraine S. Desjean of Fitchburg
Graphic & Interactive Design: Thomas P. Hill Jr. of Baldwinville
Health Information Manage­ment: Linda G. Coyne of Brea, California
Human Services: Amanda D. Favreau of Gardner
Interdisciplinary Studies: Christ­opher Stefanski of Town­send
Interdisciplinary Studies – Allied Health: Amanda L’Ecuyer of Leominster
Legal Studies: Denise A. White of Princeton
Liberal Arts & Sciences: John Blombach of Westminster
LPN to ADN Bridge: Rebecca A. Daniel of Clinton
Media Arts & Technology: Jacob M. LaFreniere of Gardner
Medical Assisting: Kristen M. Mauro of Orange
Medical Laboratory Tech­nology: Rebecca M. Gleason of Rochdale
Natural Resources: Rebekah Amburgey of Fitchburg
Nursing: Casandra L. Brisson of Fitchburg and Mercy T. Dhliwayo of Fitchburg
Physical Therapist Assistant: Sandra C. Lefferts of Fitchburg
Physics or Pre-Engineering Track: Chandler Giuffre of Athol
Theatre Arts Track: Kevin W. Figueroa of North Brookfield

Alumni Scholarship: Bella Ballin of Worcester
Barbara Chaplin Memorial Scholarship: Ashlie Visco of Athol
Barnes & Noble Scholarship:  Dillon T. Hammond of West­minster and Benjamin Spurr of Barre
Carl Tammi Award: Andre Berberena of Whitinsville
Carrie Progen Memorial Scholarship: Kayla Arianna Shabo of Paxton and Tiana L. Bean of South Barre
Craig Hamel Scholarship: Breana L. Keegan of Shrewsbury
Ellen Daly Dental Hygiene Scholarship: Casey Bedingfield of Fitzwilliam, N.H., and Leah Trudeau of Ware
Father Adamo Scholarship: Amanda D. Favreau of Gardner
James D. Murphy Scholar­ship: Thomas Berger of Winchendon
Jonathan C. Craven Scholar­ship: Kimberly A. Cook of Gardner
Joseph Baldyga Scholarship: Jason R. Catalano of Leominster
Joseph B. Ruth Scholarship: Robin A. Wead of Fitchburg
Keith Nivala Award: Kyle M. Morneau of Jaffrey, N.H.
H. Marilyn Kiosses Scholar­ship: Cassandra R. Pateneaude of Leominster
Melissa Herr Marsh Scholar­ship: Stacy L. Riel-Rigiero of Cherry Valley
Michael & Christine Green­wood Business Scholarship:  Angelique Chaput of Lancaster
Mount Observer Scholarship: Stevie LaBelle of Hubbardston
MWCC Veteran’s Memorial Scholarship: Nicholas A. DePaula of Leominster

Aspasia Anastos Award: Edward J. Santos of Gardner
Judge Moore Award: Chelsea Garrity (Academic Excellence) of Barre and Emily Lemieux (Excellence in Writing) of Leominster
Peter J. Trainor Leadership Award: Michel L. Cocuzza of Winchendon
Roberts Scholar:  Kimberly A. Cook of Gardner

Alpha Beta Scholarship: Michel L. Cocuzza of Win­chendon and Kimberly L. Mertell of Fitchburg
Honors Program Graduates: Kwadwo D. Acheampong  of Worcester, Victoria R. Allen of Hubbardston, John D. Blombach of Westminster, Jamie J. Grant of Merrimack, N.H., Stevie LaBelle of Hubbardston, Yanjun Li of Boxborough, Jenna M. McCann of Sterling, Diane Polewarczyk of Shirley and Calvin C. Seppala of Rindge, N.H.